A quote – but not a quotable quote …

“You can not give what you do not have.”

I have searched for this quote online and found that it indeed has been said … but not necessarily in the context I am quoting it from.  SO — in that case — here it is:

“You cannot give what you do not have.” – Michael Hugh, 2013

I said this at checkout today in the store and it immediately sparked a “profound look” from the cashier.  She was in her mid to late 40’s, with signs of obvious outward intelligence, so she wasn’t “deer in the headlights” … she responded with, “That is absolutely true.”  What spurred me to say this was that they only had one of a specific item that I wanted – so, I accepted the fact that they had one, and proceeded with the previous statement.

And as I was walking out – I started thinking on that statement.  And it is SO correct… in the most fundamental manner, that is.  I know there are arguments about “Well, the government give out millions and billions of dollars that it doesn’t have and it seems legit.” …. But that is government, a mythical beast that no one can slay that does what it wants outside the realm of both reality and sanity.  But that is a different post.

You can’t give what you don’t have.

I can’t give you a TV if I don’t have a TV to give.  I can’t give you respect if I don’t have respect myself.  I can’t give you love if I have no love to give….  you get the point.

We do, however, give in abundance those things that we DO have, especially if we don’t want it.  Hate, spite, grudges, jealousy…. the ability for a single human being to inflict emotional, mental and physical pain on others is astounding, and highly disturbing that we wield these weapons daily.

But I make a promise to you all, my friends.  I want to give you laughter, because I have that in abundance.  I want to likewise give you sarcasm, hugs and genuine appreciation.  I will also give you challenges, and hopefully creative methods to solve said challenges.

And hopefully, if I happen to give you enough – you might have enough to give to me as well, because then you will have them.

“Nonsensical ravings of a lunatic mind ….” – Gene Wilder – Young Frankenstein – 1974

Leave a comment